Our Team Lost but Gained Something Better

It was my first football game past Friday and it wasn’t just any football game. Bell Game was the annual event, a tradition carried on for many years as a symbol of rivalry between Edison and our school. As far as I’ve gotten down, the goal was to win the Bell from the school that won it previously. It was a symbol of the championship between schools.

I don’t know if I phrased that well but the main goal was to get the Bell. Anyways, I was sitting on the benches with such anticipation and excitement as our cheers roared to give our utmost support for our junior varsity and varsity players out there in the field. We shared together screams, chants, I thought I lost my voice!

In the end, the score was 12-56, our school lost. To add onto that, one of our teammates have fallen down on the ground as some of our fellow people rushed to the player lying on the corner of the field. It was heart wrenching I would say. I sat there watching it all happen in front of my eyes.

The crowd was leaving the game as the teammate was there. I couldn’t… My eyes turned to the scoreboard, reading the score for a brief second and suddenly I heard the roaring of Edison’s football team on the other side of the field. Flashes of photography was caught by my gaze, I watched… I watched and I didn’t know how to smile.

I stayed for a little while longer with my friend by my side and watched the team go back to the locker room, with their head down in utter defeat.

I don’t know how it feels to lose. A game I mean. A sports game on top of that. But as I kept my eyes linger on them for a little while longer before I stood up and walked out, I think I could sense their senses of guilt for letting the school down, sadness that they have worked so hard to get this far, and the fact that people have come to accept our school will always lose the Bell Game.

I’ve decided to write another letter to the team. I don’t know why but I feel as if it’s something I should at least do in order to give them my ongoing support.

Hahaha. My friend asked me if the football team is now a part of me. Yes of course they are. And if I had to choose between Edison or Fountain Valley, I would choose the latter in a heartbeat  because I’m a fellow Baron.

Briefly putting this to a stop, I enjoyed the game. Everyone worked hard. That was all I could have ever asked for.

(That was just a random photo taken meant to focus on the sky not the baseball hahaha)

Leave a Reply

